

Pennsylvania - Delaware Chapter

Association for the Education and Rehabilitation of the Blind and Visually Impaired

Penn-Del AER General Assembly Meeting Minutes

April 26, 2018

DRAFT

Best Western Premier Hotel, Harrisburg, PA

Meeting called to order at 11:24 am by Rebecca Renshaw, Board President

Parliamentarian: Vince McVeigh

Attendance

Penn-Del AER Board Members, General Membership and Conference Attendees

Officers' Reports

President: Rebecca Renshaw

Opened with a general welcome and introduction of Board Members

Secretary: Kerry Lueders

The minutes from April 27, 2017 General Assembly Meeting were presented to membership. Vince McVeigh motioned to accept the minutes as submitted, seconded by Debby Holzapfel. Membership voted and accepted the minutes.

Treasurer: Frank Irzyk

Frank Irzyk presented the current balance of the Penn-Del AER account.

Year In Review

Rebecca Renshaw presented an overview of the previous year, including goals and the

<u>www.penn-delaer.org</u> • <u>www.facebook.com/PennDelAER</u> • <u>twitter.com/PennDelAER</u>

creation of a strategic plan to focus on the following: membership, leadership development and mentoring, advocacy for the field, non-profit status, professional development and conference, and board improvement. One member of the audience asked about how to join and indicated their intent on joining today. Rebecca advised non-members to visit the registration table.

Committee Reports

Membership Committee - Rebecca Renshaw, Chair

Ashley Popojas reviewed the goal of the membership committee to increase membership to 200, the recent winners of awards/drawings opportunities (over \$3000 in incentives within the past year), current awards/opportunities for current conference (registration for next Year's Penn-Del AER conference plus \$100 in travel expenses and \$50 gift certificate to O'Reilly's; all current members or lapsing and new members will be automatically entered in the wine basket drawing; current members recruiting new members plus the recruits will be entered in a drawing to receive \$100 Visa gift card). Winners must be present at the banquet, and awards are non-transferrable.

Nominations Committee - Vince McVeigh, Chair

Vince McVeigh reviewed the goal of the Nominating Committee to fill positions on the board.

Nominations for three Officers (term ending June 20, 2020)

President-Elect: Holly Russell Treasurer: Vince McVeigh Secretary: Kerry Lueders

Nominations for seven Directors-at-Large

Western PA District: Kathleen Buskirk, Brenda Egan, Mary Nelle McLennan

Eastern PA Region:

Central PA District: Susan Neff, Tracy Whitehead

Delaware: Loretta Harper-Brown, Maria Lepore-Stevens

Vince asked for nominations from the floor. A motion by Ashley Popojas motioned to accept the slate as presented. Debby Holzapfel seconded the motion. Membership voted to accept the slate of Officers and Board of Directors as presented.

All Board members rotating off were recognized for their service and presented with a plaque and gift: Debby Holzapfel, Frank Irzyk

By-Laws and Structure Committee – Angela Humbertson, Chair

The current by-laws to be revised and their proposed changes were reviewed.

Eight revisions were sent out to membership.

Article IV Section 4.6.1.

The President shall preside at all regular and special meetings of the membership and the Board of Directors. The President shall be the responsible executive officer and shall administer the affairs of the PennDel AER Chapter between meetings of the Board of Directors. The President shall appoint committees, both standing and special, (including their chairpersons) in accordance with the provisions of these bylaws. In cooperation with the Treasurer he or she shall develop an annual budget for the Chapter and present it to the Board of Directors. The President shall serve as chairperson of the Nominating Committee and shall oversee the election of officers and members of the Board of Directors.

Article IV Section 4.6.2. The President-Elect shall serve as assistant to the President and shall preside at meetings of the membership and the Board in the absence of the President. The President-Elect <u>shall assist the Immediate Past-President in planning the annual Chapter conference.</u>

Article IV Section 4.6.5. The Immediate Past President shall serve as chairperson of the Nominating Committee and shall oversee the election of officers and members of the Board of Directors. The Immediate Past President will be responsible for the mentoring of new members to the board of directors. The Immediate Past President shall serve as chairperson of the annual Chapter Conference Planning Committee with the assistance of the President-Elect.

Article VI Section 6.2. The time and place of the annual conference shall be determined by the Board of Directors. To the extent possible, the location shall rotate among the all the geographic districts.

Article VII Section 7.2.1. Upon assuming office, the President shall <u>chair and</u> appoint a Nominating Committee consisting of the Immediate Past-President and at least two other members.

Article X Section 10.1.1. The Nominating Committee shall prepare the slate of nominees for officers and Directors preparatory to elections. It shall consist of at least three persons and shall be chaired by the <u>President</u>.

Article X Section 10.1.1. The Nominating Committee shall prepare the slate of nominees for officers and Directors preparatory to elections. It shall consist of at least three persons and shall be chaired by the <u>President</u>.

Section 10.1.3. The Professional Development Committee shall consist of the following <u>three</u> Sub-Committees: Annual Penn-Del AER Conference, Leadership, <u>Scholarship</u>, and District Meetings. Except for the Annual Penn-Del AER Conference Sub-Committee, the Chair of the Professional Development Committee will appoint three Coordinators for each of the three Sub-Committees. Each Sub-Committee will consist of as many members as necessary to carry out their function.

A motion was made by Vince McVeigh to accept the changes to the bylaws. Debby Holzapfel seconded the motion. Membership voted to accept the changes.

Communication Committee – Debby Holzapfel, Chair

A review of the committee was presented to the membership. Committee goals were reviewed: to promote AER, monitor and respond to legislative activity at state and national level, be primary vehicle for having info flow back and forth to membership; maintain an updated website to serve as an accurate communication tool; provide a mechanism for materials to be stored and available electronically, provide one file for electronic materials to be navigable and available across platforms.

<u>Public Relations Subcommittee – Ashley Popojas, Chair</u>

Penn-Del AER had a presence at the AER International O&M Conference staffed by Penn-Del AER volunteers and hosted a Pirate-game outing. Encouraged audience to sign up for a committee.

Professional Development Committee – Vince McVeigh, Chair

<u>Conference Subcommittee – Vince McVeigh and Angela Humbertson, Co-chairs</u>
A review of the subcommittee was presented to the membership and members were recognized.

Scholarship Subcommittee – Angela Humbertson, Chair

The goal of the committee was reviewed. This year's student recipient is Christian Whitehead. All monies from silent auction support the student scholarship.

Awards Committee - Debby Holzapfel, Chair

The goal of the committee was reviewed.

2018 Award Recipients

Penn-Del AER Richard L. Welsh Service Award: Brenda Loughrey

Elinor Long Educator of the Year (ELEY) Award: Jan Kautz

Conclusion

2019 Penn-Del AER Conference will be held April 24-26, 2019. Meeting Adjourned at 12:00 pm

Submitted by Kerry Lueders, 4/27/18