

www.penn-delaer.org

Penn-Del AER General Assembly Meeting Minutes April 28, 2016 APPROVED

Best Western Premier Hotel, Harrisburg, PA

Meeting called to order at 11:15 am by Vince McVeigh, Board President

Parliamentarian: Frank Irzyk

Attendance

Penn-Del AER Board Members, General Membership and Conference Attendees

Officers' Reports

President: Vince Mc Veigh

Opened with a general welcome and introduction of Board Members

Secretary: Helene Marano

The minutes from April 23, 2015 General Assembly Meeting were presented to membership. Shelley Rhoades motioned to accept the minutes as submitted. The motioned was seconded by Debby Holzapfel. Membership voted and accepted the minutes.

Treasurer: Vince McVeigh (acting for Dan Madrid)

The annual budget was presented to membership for acceptance. The motion was seconded by Mary Nelle McLennan. The budget was approved by a vote of the membership.

Committee Reports

Nominations Committee - Christie Peel, Chair

Nominations for Officers:

President-Elect: Angela Humbertson Secretary: Kerry Lueders Treasurer: Frank Irzyk

Nominations for Directors-at-Large

Western Region: Ashley Popojas Central Region: Doug Williams, Maria Grimes Eastern Region: JoAnn McNamee, Nancy Ashley Delaware: Deb Bradl

A motion by Tracey Whitehead was made to accept the slate as presented. Shelley Rhoades seconded the motion. Membership voted to accept the slate of Officers and Board of Directors as presented.

By-Laws Committee

Article V, Section 4. Meetings

Proposed change: Documentation of attendance/participation and venue of participation, i.e. in person, electronic etc., will be submitted as part of all meeting records maintained.

A Motion was made by Beth Wagner to accept the changes.

Debby Holzapfel seconded the motion. Membership voted to accept the changes.

Article V, Section 8. Votes

Proposed changes: For matters requiring full Board consideration, approval must be by a majority instead of unanimous. Also any vote not received by the deadline will be regarded as an abstention instead of negative vote.

A motion was made by Beth Wagner to accept the changes.

Mary Nelle McLennan seconded the motion. Membership voted to accept the changes.

Article X, Section 1.6. Awards Committee

Proposed changes:

The committee will be comprised of the following:

One Penn-Del AER board member who will chair the committee One member of the Penn-Del AER Conference Planning committee One additional Penn-Del AER member will be invited to participate on this committee

Additional members may be invited to participate on this committee

A motion was made by Beth Wagner to accept the changes.

Brenda Egan seconded the motion. Membership voted to accept the changes.

Communication Committee – Debby Holzapfel, Chair

A review of the improvements to accessibility was presented to membership.

Legislation

Cogswell-Macy Act

Mark Richert from AFB updated membership on this Bill. It has been introduced to the House and Senate. He requested members reach out to Senator Pat Toomy to support the Act.

A resolution was presented for Penn-Del AER to support the passage of the Cogswell-Macy Act.

A motion was made by Shelley Rhoades.

Christie Peel seconded the motion. Membership voted to accept the resolution.

Professional Development Committee Reports - Vince McVeigh, Chair

Penn-Del AER Conference Committee – Rebecca Renshaw

This year 309 attendees, 134 of the attendees are AER members.

Student Scholarship Committee – Angela Humbertson

This year's recipient is Brittany Larkin.

All monies from silent auction support the student scholarship.

Awards Committee - Deb Holzapfel, Chair

2016 Award Recipients

Penn-Del AER Richard L. Welsh Service Award: Holly Russell Elinor Long Educator of the Year (ELEY) Award: Doug Williams

All Board members rotating off were recognized for their service and presented with a plaque and gift.

Meeting Adjourned at 12:10 pm

Submitted by Helene Marano, 7/29/2016