The Penn-Del AER Scholarship was designed to reward one outstanding university student with a merit scholarship. Applicants need to be AER members, enrolled in a full or part-time program, and majoring in the following certification areas: Low Vision Therapist, Orientation and Mobility Specialist, Rehabilitation Counseling, Teacher of Students with Visual Impairments, or Vision Rehabilitation Therapist, as well as live or work within Pennsylvania or Delaware (but need not be enrolled within a program in Pennsylvania or Delaware).

The Penn-Del AER Education Scholarship is awarded during the Annual Banquet at the Penn-Del AER Conference. The Education Scholarship is a competitive merit award available to any Penn-Del AER member who lives or works in Pennsylvania or Delaware and who is enrolled in a university personnel preparation program in a related field of study that addresses the educational and rehabilitation needs of persons with visual impairments.

NOTE: The PDF form below must be completed using Adobe Reader or Acrobat. The free Adobe Reader software can be found at To complete this form and save, follow these steps:

     • Right-click on the link to the form and choose the option to save the file to an appropriate folder on your computer.

     • Locate the downloaded PDF file and open it using your Adobe program.

     • Enter your information, and save the file with a new name.

Download the Penn-Del AER Scholarship application

Student Scholarship Application Cover Page 2020 Penn-Del AER

Student Scholarship Ltr-Description 2020 Penn-Del AER

2018 Penn-Del AER Scholarship Recipient

Christian Whitehead

Senior at Kutztown University

Elementary Education and Special Education for the Visually Impaired

Kutztown, Pennsylvania

2017 Penn-Del AER Elinor Long Award Recipient

Greg Lazur

Graduate Student at the University of Pittsburgh, Dual Certification Program, Teacher of Students with Visual Impairment (TVI)/Orientation and Mobility (O&M) Specialist

Penn-Del AER Education Scholarship Awardees

2016  Brittany Larkin

2015  Katherine Flick, Kutztown University

2014  Amy Burke, University of Pittsburgh

2013  Kristina McClelland, University of Pittsburgh

2012  Kiriam Peters, University of Pittsburgh

2011  Carrie Livingston, University of Pittsburgh

2010  Amy Powell, University of Pittsburgh

2009  Courtney John, Salus University

2008  Steve Greenberg, Pennsylvania College of Optometry

2005  Mary Davidson, University of Pittsburgh