Elinor Long Award

The Elinor Long Educator of the Year Award (ELEY) was established to recognize a professional (an educator, administrator, university faculty, or medical personnel from Pennsylvania or Delaware) who has demonstrated outstanding contributions and performance in the field.

NOTE: The PDF form below must be completed using Adobe Reader or Acrobat. The free Adobe Reader software can be found at www.adobe.com. To complete this form and save, follow these steps:

     • Right-click on the link to the form and choose the option to save the file to an appropriate folder on your computer.

     • Locate the downloaded PDF file and open it using your Adobe program.

     • Enter your information, and save the file with a new name.

Download both the award description and award application form:

Description here

Application form here

2019 Penn-Del AER Elinor Long Award Recipient

Jodi Cox


2018 Penn-Del AER Elinor Long Award Recipient

Jan Kautz

Teacher of Students with Visual Impairments

Lancaster Lebanon Intermediate Unit 13

Lancaster, Pennsylvania

2017 Penn-Del AER Elinor Long Award Recipient

Fabiana Perla

Department Chair, Director of Orientation and Mobility Program; Associate Professor, Department of Blindness and Low Vision Studies, Salus University

2016 Penn-Del AER Elinor Long Award Recipient

Holly Russell

Holly has been recognized for her years of dedication to the Penn-Del Chapter of AER. She has worked on the conference planning committee, as well as the Communications Committee. Holly is currently employed at the Western PA School for Blind Children as an Outreach Teacher.

2015 Penn-Del AER Elinor Long Award Recipient

Brenda Egan

Brenda has dedicated many years of service to Penn-Del AER, serving as president, and working diligently on the Conference Committee. She is a retired school Administrator from Western PA School for Blind Children.

Recipients of the Elinor Long, Educator of the Year (ELEY) Award

2014    John Hannum, O&M Specialist

2013    Tracy Whitehead, Intermediate Unit 17

2012    Harry K. Lasky, posthumously, Kutztown University

2010    Dael Cohen, Overbrook School for the Blind

2009    Penni Telleck, Independent Consultant

2008    Katherine Brittian, Westmoreland Intermediate Unit #7

2007    Chris Ament, Susquehanna Association for the Blind

2006    Jennifer Concannon, Western Pennsylvania School for Blind Children

2004    Kathleen Cleaver, Saint Lucy Day School for Children with Visual Impairments

2003    Dr. Bernadette Kappen, Overbrook School for the Blind

2002    Robin Adler, Lancaster-Lebanon Intermediate Unit #13

2000    Tori Bell, Capital Area Intermediate Unit #15

1999    Earlene Colella, Appalachia Intermediate Unit #8

1998    Dr. Ralph Peabody, Professor Emeritus, University of Pittsburgh

1997    Mark Steciw, Eastern Instructional Support Center, PaTTAN

1997    Debby Holzapfel, Western Instructional Support Center, PaTTAN

1997    Frank Irzyk, Central Instructional Support Center, PaTTAN

1996    Rita Robertson, Norristown Area School District

1995    Lynn Vuocolo, Allegheny Intermediate Unit #3

1994    Robert Ashbridge, Overbrook School for the Blind

1993    Ben Williams, Montgomery County Intermediate Unit #23

1992    Sister M. Margaret Fleming, IHM, St. Lucy Day School for Children with Visual Impairments

1991    Harold Hoff, Chester County Intermediate Unit #24

1990    Jeanne Gardier, Northeastern Immediate Unit #19

1989    Susan Millaway, Montgomery County Intermediate Unit #23

1988    Jeanne Leiper, Capital Area Intermediate Unit #15

1987    Adrienne Koller, Capital Area Intermediate Unit #15

1986    Carolyn Hoover, Capital Area Intermediate Unit #15

1985    Ridgeway Clark, Allegheny Intermediate Unit #3

1984    Patricia Bowles, Berks County Intermediate Unit #14